My thought for the day – #altc Day 1

Don’t ignore the late adopters

As a learning technologist, I love the keen academics who are always ready to try out something new.

I engage in coffee-time discussions with these early adopters about teaching and learning and how to incorporate new methods into their courses. And then, after a teaching innovation is deployed, I’m on hand with evaluations and debriefings and pats on the back.

By the time a new technique has been included in multiple courses, it’s old hat for me – boring, more of the same.

But each academic changing their course is taking a significant step. And later adopters deserve the same feedback and support that was lavished on the fore-runners.

So, when I make roll-out plans for embedding new technology, I also need to include time for talking and thinking things through with those who are later to the adopt.

One thought on “My thought for the day – #altc Day 1

Leave a Reply

